EOD Innovation Awardee


Utah Public Radio

"The Source"
2014-2015 Awardee


Utah State University has designated 2015 as “The Year of Water.” Acknowledged both nationally and internationally as leaders in water-related research and management, USU’s engineers, hydrologists, agronomists, sociologists, climate scientists and others will have their work spotlighted and lauded as part of the university’s year-long recognition.


To highlight Year of Water events and expertise, Utah Public Radio (UPR) developed a plan to present fascinating stories and in-depth information about water-related projects and USU faculty members and researchers whose work helps farmers, climatologists, economic development specialists and average citizens deal with water issues.


UPR’s coverage included an hour-long program, The Source, as well as educational segments and news reports on water research and issues in the state. Programming was hosted and spearheaded by UPR reporter Jennifer Pemberton. You may access to a complete collection of past episodes of The Source. The award-winning program was recognized with awards from the Associated Press Radio-Television Association (APTRA), and the Society of Professional Journalists, Utah Headliners Chapter in 2016.


Left photo: The Source production team, Jennifer Pemberton, Ross Chambless, and Ryan Cunningham at the Utah Journalism Awards ceremony, and at right: Jennifer Pemberton at the APTRA Mark Twain Awards, Los Angeles, CA in June 2016.

Photos courtesy of J. Pemberton